Whitney Houston – Another bad boy victim?

My condolences to the family of Whitney Houston.

I vividly remember sitting in front of the TV, watching The Bodyguard. Her supposedly terrible acting skills did not bother the teenager me. In fact I thought the movie was great and learned of the singer Whitney Houston for the first time. How often have I tried singing the karaoke version of the song I will always love you! But her powerful voice and musical talent cannot be simply copied.

Since I do not know her personally, I would not be presumptuous enough to comment on her life based only on what the tabloids publish. But she did admit in an interview with Oprah that she had done drugs and effects were visible; missed appointments, cancelled booking s and a voice, which became a mere echo of the one she had during her pre-drugs years. It goes to show that money can buy one better drugs than crack but the effects of drug abuse are destructive none the less.

In many ways, her life story and early demise has parallels to that of Amy Winehouse. Both married bad boys and were allegedly introduced to drugs through their partners. The results could be publicly witnessed. They became a laughing stock as a result of bad live performances and embarrassing behaviours in public. Both have gone through several rehabs. Both wanted to change their lives and separated themselves from the influence of their husbands. Both wanted to make a comeback to reach the success of earlier times. Both died alone and during a time when all others thought that the worse was over.

Isn’t it common sense that bad boys and drugs are a terrible comnbinations? What is it with bad boys that attract women in the first place? I was curious if there is a genetic or psychological explanation for this behaviour and came across an interesting article in Psychology today by Nando Pelusi Ph. D. The gist of the article is that from an evolution point of view, women want to pass on good genes to the next generation. They want sons, who are good looking and strong and do not get bullied in the playground during recess. Good genes translate into high testosterone in men, who like peacocks stand out from the mass because of their bravado and self-confidence. Such attractions are fleeting in nature, as the men feel the need to spread their seeds in other fields or the women after passing on the genes grow tired of their bad boy antics and are ready to move onto someone more stable (Nando Pelusi, 2009). Kate Moss seems to have jumped off the bad boy train at the right time. Hope she is none the worse because of the ride, unlike her peers Amy and Whitney.

Whitney Houston’s early demise is yet again proof for me that money and fame do not guarantee a happy life. I am thankful for the loyal trait in my nature. That is probably the reason I was unconsciously looking for a long term relationship and decided for Mr. M. Mr. M is the ultimate nice guy. He had no similarities with any of the male cast of Jersey Shore. But I am sure that he would brave all types of dangers to keep me safe. If I need my hit of bad boys, I will just grab another Harlequin type romance novel. In the end, the bad boys always become nice and true and lucky me had all that from the very beginning. Ladies! Nice guys have much more to offer than their reputations.

References
Nando Pelusi, P. (2009, January 01). Psychology Today. Retrieved February 12, 2012, from http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200901/neanderthink-the-appeal-the-bad-boy

5 thoughts on “Whitney Houston – Another bad boy victim?

  1. Michael says:

    Very well said Irene, “Money and Fame do not guarantee a happy life.” The sudden and unexpected demise of Whitney Houston is a great loss. We lost a great voice. Happy St. Valentine’s Day and God Bless.

  2. One thing said by you was that you did not know Whitney personally. Hence, how many really know of anothers life from the inside.

    Growth is a natural progression whereas the understanding of our experiences in life is subjective at best. Whitney once said she was dealing with a Sunday church going life while coming down off of her Saturday night mis-adventures. Those around her were obviously helping themselves and not too concerned with helping the one who needed help. This observation isn’t subjective as I’ve been there.

    Your writings are revealing, conscious and inspiring. Add this to your development; Bad Boyz no matter how marvelous their visual gene pool appears, are usually “Good Guys caught up in a mysterous set of nasty circumstances. Much like Whitney.

    • You are absolutely right. Sometimes even those close to us do not really know what is going on inside of us but I guess there are always signs when a person is in need of help. When something bad like this happens, people in the “inner circle” usually speak up saying there were signs and “if only I had done something about it”.

      🙂 Every person has the propensity to be bad. That was an interesting message I took away when I studied The Secret Sharer by Joseph Conrad. In my opinion this is in part brought out by nasty circumstances and in part influenced by one’s own values in life. I have had nasty experiences in my life but I still believe in the good in people. (Mr.M calls it being naive and its drives him crazy with worry that I trust strangers easily.)

      Thank you very much for your compliment. It is at times difficult to write down my personal experiences and feelings because it makes me feel vulnerable and I am afraid of being judged for what I say. Then I tell myself, if someone else can learn from my mistakes or musings it is worth making the effort.

      Wish you a Happy Valentine’s Day and take care. Cheers!

  3. Michael says:

    Hi Irene, I have just passed the “Mrs. Sparkly’s 10 Commandments Award to you. The details are in my latest post. Have a great week ahead and Happy Valentine’s Day. !!!

    • Hi Michael, thanks for the honour. 🙂 I will make sure to pass it onto the next worthy recipient. Wish you a wonderful week ahead and Happy Valentine’s Day! Take care. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

