There won’t be another day

This flash fiction is inspired by the following photo prompt. the challenge is hosted by Madison Woods. Head over there for more flash fiction action.

I welcome constructive criticisms. That’s why I am posting these pieces on a blog. 🙂 Thanks in advance for taking the time to comment.

Wordcount: 100

****************************************************************

Let’s take a dip to cool off before food.

My Blackberry vibrated.

Please don’t! You promised today would be just for us.

I apologised to her but answered the call. My secretary said that I was urgently needed back in the office.

I’ll walk back after lunch. Alone. Again.

***

I sit down on the grassy bank. I feel the morning dew seeping through my jeans. I watch the sun rise.

Its orangey rays illuminate the mist covered fields. But they are not strong enough to chase away the chill within me. Last night she told me she wants a divorce.

15 thoughts on “There won’t be another day

  1. Very good job, Irene. Looks like you are having great fun with this Flash Fiction. I like how you wrapped it all up to the last sentence.

  2. Tony says:

    Hey Irene, hope all is well. I remember you saying you might be starting a new job in April? I think you may have said that. Anyways, just stopping by and wishing you well. Tony

Leave a Reply

