A new start is on the horizon

In Confessions of a virgin, I wrote about how I have never been to a job interview before. I was anxious about how my very first job interview on the 16th of February would be. After a 4 hour interview and assessment centre, I was happy with my own performance. I knew that I had given my best. The week later the company contacted me to arrange a trial working day on the 28th of February. I was elated. They wanted to see me again! It meant that I had passed the interview round. I had faced the unknown monster under the bed and found out that it was not as frightening as my imagination made it out to be.

I wondered how a trial working day for the role of Project Manager would be like. Mr. M and I brainstormed and came up with several possibilities. We both agreed that they probably would present me with a case study, possibly something they experienced themselves and require me to present solutions. Come Tuesday, I was there on time and Mr. J, one of the bosses, greeted me in his office. Immediately he came clean that he has not done this before. I was the guinea pig he could test his idea on. What a comforting idea!

Before we started the trial work day/ test scenario, he gave me a feedback on how he found the interview. He said he is sure that I am intelligent. 🙂 He is certain that I am very good when it comes to executing a task. But he was not sure, to what extent I was a leader and independent problem solver. That was what he wanted to test me on. He wanted me to take a look at a process in their company, which in his opinion had to be optimised. My task was to document the As-Is process and present a To-Be solution for an optimised process flow. The third element of the test was how I went about getting the information I needed. Mr. J followed me around taking notes as I was physically walked and talked through the process from department to department.

After approximately 90 minutes and I had asked all the questions I thought necessary, I was left alone to document my findings and proposal. After 3 hours, I presented my results to Mr. J. I have to mention that this was exactly the kind of job I enjoyed doing. I was lucky that I could use the knowledge I had gained in my previous job in the solution I came up with. At one point, I had the feeling that the presentation had turned into a discussion with Mr. J expressing his own ideas to optimise the process. We were pretty much on the page. I took that to be a good sign. Again I was happy with my efforts that day and I did not regret a single thing I had done. At the end of the day, I was exhausted and had a terrible headache. But I ended it with (the post) Happy Thoughts.

Today I have the confirmation that my gut feeling was right. The job is mine for the taking and I have accepted. The contract will be on its way to me soon. If nothing goes terribly wrong between now and signing the contract, I have a new job to look forward to in April. 🙂 I really mean the looking forward to part. The moment I researched the company, I knew that it was the kind of company I wanted to work for. In fact, I was certain they wouldn’t even invite me for an interview because I lacked experience in their industry. But I was wrong. They did invite me to an interview and the rest you already know. Every pot has a cover and I am sure I have found mine. (For the career pot that is. I have found the cover for my love pot a long time ago.)

If you are looking for a job, a trial working day is an excellent way to convince a potential employer of your suitability for the offered position. It also gives you the opportunity to check out the company culture and office atmosphere.

The future can come. I am ready for it.

Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. ~Confucius

8 thoughts on “A new start is on the horizon

  1. It is so great to read this. I wish you a very good start and that everything will turn out just the way that is good for you!!! Having fun and being passionate with what you´re doing for living is wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

