Are my goals doomed to fail?

Today I watched a TED talk video by Derek Sivers titled: Keep you goals to yourself. Imagine how I felt when I watched it! I started blogging because I thought, if I told the world out there about my goals, I would feel obliged to see them through. According to Derek, it has been tested and proven that the opposite result is likely. Basically when we are admired for our goals, we feel satisfied. We are rewarded even before we achieve something and therefore we lose the dedication to see our goals through. It is the way our brains work.

I should have known better because the same thing has happened to me many times before. I have wanted to write a book for a long time. I told others, hoping that it would pressure me into fulfilling my goal. I still do not have a completed manuscript to my name. 😦 Even the resolutions on this page, apart from the daily blog and finding a job, seem to be doomed to fail. Now I know the reason why.

So how can I salvage the situation after the damage has already been done? I need your co-operation for here. Stare at the middle of your screen. (I am holding up a memory eraser thingy, as seen in Men In Black. It magically materialised next to me on the couch.)

You will forget all the goals I have ever told you about. You will not praise me for something I have not done yet. You will read every single one of my blog posts.

There you go. I hope I have saved my goals from sure death. It was an extremely close call. It is alright, if you have no idea what I am talking about. Everything is going to be just fine.

Related Articles

3 thoughts on “Are my goals doomed to fail?

  1. That’s interesting as I always thought writing them down helped! How about creating a mood board to keep up to motivate you – pictures of your favourite author and inspiring quotes might help!

    • Inspiring quotes are great for the moment. Another problem that I have (in addition to a big mouth) is that I am a procrastinator. But I am working on getting things done in my private life. I am taking one small step after another. 🙂

Leave a Reply

