Tragedy needed to shake up my world

How often have you heard someone say something like, “After I lost my job and couldn’t find another one, I was so desperate that I decided to give my dream a try. Now I am happy and living the life I have always dreamt of.” Maybe not necessarily a tragedy but a wakeup call of some kind that chucks us out of our rutted routine we call life.

Today I read a story about how the early death of her mother due to extreme obesity led a woman to lose about 115 pounds herself (Cuffey, 2012). She has wanted to lose weight for a long time but she needed a death to seriously tackle the issue and be successful too.

I had something like this in mind, when I made my New Year’s resolution and wanted to live this year as if it were my last. But I have the feeling that I am still not making the most of my time. All because a tiny voice at the back of my mind keeps telling me that this probably won’t be my last year. My life is comfortable, why change it? I hate this tiny voice. I tell you; comfortable is the killer of greatness. But I am wondering, how can I get out of this comfy trap without being triggered into action by a tragic occurrence? I will let you know, if I find a way out.

Reference
Cuffey, A. (2012, January 18). Yahoo! Health. Retrieved January 21, 2012, from http://health.yahoo.net/articles/weight-loss/how-i-lost-115-pounds

Leave a Reply

