What will I be?

As you know, I am currently looking for a job. I left my last position to go on a yearlong round the world trip with my husband. We came back in April last year and I looked for a position similar to my last one. After half a dozen refusals, I decided to improve my market worth by getting certified as a Project Manager. I passed the exams in December and hope that the new qualifications would make me more appealing to a potential employer.
Then my husband comes along and questions my selection criteria for potential employers. He thinks I am being too practical about it. Instead of looking for positions that suit my profile, he wants me to identify jobs that would make working fun instead of a chore. I took his advice to heart and started googling about career self-assessments, when I came across a tip by a career consultant. “Think about what you wanted to be when you were eight.” I cannot remember what I wanted to be when I was eight but I remember what I wanted to be when I was a teenager. I wanted to be several things; a writer, an actress and a teacher. I was on the debate team, the public speaking team, took part in school plays, danced and sang at various school events and gave private tuition too. Actually the young me did all the things that I wanted to be when I grew up. My biggest mistake was giving up my Theatre Major at University because my parents wanted me to learn something more practical and useful for a future career.
Although I cannot complain about my life, as an adult I ended up doing stuff I never would have imagined doing as a child. I worked for years in the accounts department and when on to work on an IT project. I learned new skills and was good at what I did but it was not really my dream job. I viewed it as part of being grown up. Being grown up means being responsible, making compromises or even sacrifices and the important thing is to earn enough money to live a comfortable life. It is the way my parents live their lives and the way I should live mine too…
At least that is what I have been thinking all this time. Now instead of looking for a job that fits my academic and professional profile, I am looking for a position that fits my passions. Wish me success!

Leave a Reply

